Okie Card Revocation

I would like to let you all know that my Okie card will be revoked.  You see…even though I literally drove through not one but two tornadoes and lived to tell about it….I made a fatal Okie mistake.  I didn’t take a picture.

I would like to think it is because I’m smarter than most, but apparently my mother adopted me and I was born in another state. 

Major hail damage to my car (that’s what happens when you get pelted with baseball sized hail).  The first tornado picked me up, slung me across on coming traffic and landed me in a ditch.  The scariest part was when I was in on coming traffic and a truck coming at me was picked up and went across the other way.  I thought for sure I was a goner. 

I prayed so much that I wouldn’t be surprised if Jesus is now deaf. 

I can assure you that I should NOT have walked away from that one….let alone the second one in Norman at Hwy 9 and 77 where all the light posts, power poles, and power lines fell.  I even saw a truck (might have been an SUV, but I couldn’t see the end of it) teetering from Hwy 9 pointing down toward 77 (where I was stuck for a while).

I didn’t get blown around much in that one.  When I got to Nana Beachy’s house where my husband, children, and dog were taking shelter I was promptly tackled by both sons, my niece, and almost drowned in dog slobber.  They couldn’t get a hold of me because of the weather (cell towers down) and Almost Prince Charming had gone out looking for me.  Eventually got a hold of him.

Our electricity just came back on.  My insurance company can’t decide if should be considered an auto accident (though I hit no cars and no cars hit me) or a catastrophic event.  They wanted me to wait 48 hours for their medical team to call me to get checked out.  I went today.  I couldn’t go last night or I would have right after the first go round.  My phone wouldn’t dial out.

My car is still in driving condition (believe it or not!) and my only injuries are a strained neck and strained back. 

Yesterday was brought to you by the letter M….not for Monday…but for MIRACLE!

God definitely had His hand on me.

2 Comments »

  1. Becki Said:

    I could not even imagine going through that… we have crazy wind storms here with gusts over 100mph and it is scary, but a tornado!!!! TWO tornados!! Miracle indeed! Praise God!

  2. Wow. What a story. God is good, indeed.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

